Alaska Vape Shop Laws & Regulations

Up-to-date as of April 17,2019

-Alaska Vape Age is 19. http://www.legis.state.ak.us/PDF/30/Bills/SB0015Z.PDF

-There is not currently a vape tax in place in Alaska. However, in March 2019, a vape tax has been proposed by Rep Sara Hannan. The tax would apply the states 75 percent excise tax on tobacco products to vaping products. https://www.juneauempire.com/news/hannan-proposes-new-tax-on-vaping-products/

-A link to Rep Sara Hanna’s proposed vape tax bill here - https://www.akleg.gov/basis/Bill/Detail/31?Root=HB%20%2094#tab6_4

-The Vape tax in Alaska would only apply to products that come with nicotine. This would include vape juice, pre-filled pods, and any starter kits that come with nicotine. If it is just a component, such as a mod, battery, charger, atomizer, or tank, than it will not be taxed. The package must include nicotine in the sale.

-Jan 2019 – Businesses that sell vape products must obtain a special business license. https://www.ktva.com/story/39721620/new-rules-govern-alaska-ecigarette-sales

-Effective January 2019 vape shops in Alaska must have a State of Alaska Business License. For more information on obtaining a business license in Alaska - https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/BusinessLicensing/ObtainBusinessLicenseNumber.aspx

-In addition to having a standard Alaskan business license, you must have a business license endorsement for each location. For more information on endorsements, use this link - https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/BusinessLicensing/EndorsementFAQs.aspx

-You can file a business license in Alaska online using this link - https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/cbp/businesslicense/new/

-For more information on obtaining a business license and business license endorsement in Alaska, you can use this link - https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/BusinessLicensing/NewBLOnline.aspx or email BusinessLicense@Alaska.Gov

-Smokefree Alaska Law prohibits vaping in workplaces, public places. This does not effect sampling inside of vape shops. Shops can still charge for samples per FDA guidelines. http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/Chronic/Pages/Tobacco/SmokefreeWorkplace/FAQ.aspx

Alaska Vape Shop Laws & Regulations

Up-to-date as of April 17,2019

-Alaska Vape Age is 19. http://www.legis.state.ak.us/PDF/30/Bills/SB0015Z.PDF

-There is not currently a vape tax in place in Alaska. However, in March 2019, a vape tax has been proposed by Rep Sara Hannan. The tax would apply the states 75 percent excise tax on tobacco products to vaping products. https://www.juneauempire.com/news/hannan-proposes-new-tax-on-vaping-products/

-A link to Rep Sara Hanna’s proposed vape tax bill here - https://www.akleg.gov/basis/Bill/Detail/31?Root=HB%20%2094#tab6_4

-The Vape tax in Alaska would only apply to products that come with nicotine. This would include vape juice, pre-filled pods, and any starter kits that come with nicotine. If it is just a component, such as a mod, battery, charger, atomizer, or tank, than it will not be taxed. The package must include nicotine in the sale.

-Jan 2019 – Businesses that sell vape products must obtain a special business license. https://www.ktva.com/story/39721620/new-rules-govern-alaska-ecigarette-sales

-Effective January 2019 vape shops in Alaska must have a State of Alaska Business License. For more information on obtaining a business license in Alaska - https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/BusinessLicensing/ObtainBusinessLicenseNumber.aspx

-In addition to having a standard Alaskan business license, you must have a business license endorsement for each location. For more information on endorsements, use this link - https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/BusinessLicensing/EndorsementFAQs.aspx

-You can file a business license in Alaska online using this link - https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/cbp/businesslicense/new/

-For more information on obtaining a business license and business license endorsement in Alaska, you can use this link - https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/BusinessLicensing/NewBLOnline.aspx or email BusinessLicense@Alaska.Gov

-Smokefree Alaska Law prohibits vaping in workplaces, public places. This does not effect sampling inside of vape shops. Shops can still charge for samples per FDA guidelines. http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/Chronic/Pages/Tobacco/SmokefreeWorkplace/FAQ.aspx